Md. Habibur Rahman

Senior Secretary, Power Division

Md. Habibur Rahman took up the role of Secretary in the Power Division on November 12, 2020, following his position as Additional Secretary (Budget 1) in the Finance Division under the Ministry of Finance. A member of the 10th batch of the Bangladesh Civil Service (Administration) cadre since 1991, he has had a distinguished career. Beginning as an Assistant Commissioner in Rajshahi's Divisional Commissioner Office, he progressed through roles such as Assistant Commissioner in Natore's Deputy Commissioner Office and in the Refugee, Relief and Repatriation Commission at Cox’s Bazar.

His impactful career spans over 15 years in the Finance Division, marked by his instrumental involvement in transitioning from traditional budget methods to the Medium-Term Budget Framework (MTBF). His significant positions included Deputy Secretary (Budget-1), Joint Secretary (Budget-1), and eventually Additional Secretary (Budget-1), where he played a central role in national budget preparation for more than a decade.

Rahman's educational background is impressive, with BSc. and MSc. degrees in Applied Physics and Electronics from the University of Dhaka, along with a Master’s in Economic Development Policy and Research from the University of Birmingham, UK. He augmented his expertise through training in Government Budget Management, Public Financial Management, and related areas in countries like India, Singapore, USA, UK, and New Zealand.

Recognized for his exceptional contributions, he was honored with the esteemed 2017 Public Administration Award. Moreover, he actively engaged in teaching Public Financial Management at various institutes, contributing to the development of proficient Civil Servants in the realm of Public Finance.

10:00 AM - 11:59 AM

September 9 Day 2

Session: A common vision: The benefits of energy connectivity through enhanced regional cooperation

View Details about the Session


A K Mahmud
Director, Regional Energy Trade, USAID BADGE

Welcome Remarks:

Abdelkader (Ed) Elrahal
Chief of Party, USAID BADGE


Md. Habibur Rahman
Senior Secretary, Power Division

Dr. Muhammad Khan
Director, Economic Growth Office, USAID Bangladesh

Nahim Razzaq, MP
Convenor, Climate Parliament Bangladesh


Md Mahbubur Rahman
Chairman, Bangladesh Power Development Board

Md. Raihan Akhtar
Joint Secretary, Power Division

Shayan Shafi
Energy Team Leader, USAID Bangladesh

Kelly Hewitt
Principal Energy Specialist, ADB

Waleed S. Alsuraih
Lead Energy Specialist, World Bank, South Asia Region

Farzana Mustafa
Climate and Environment Adviser
British High Commission


Mr Nahim Razzaq, MP
Convenor, Climate Parliament Bangladesh

Vote of Thanks:

Dr. Alam Hossain Mondal
Deputy Chief of Party, USAID BADGE